A Message to My Peers Who Lack Melanin: Being Black at a PWI

By: Jayne Thomas

That moment when you’re the only black girl in your modern history class and the topic of conversation is slavery so everyone in class, including the professor, is waiting on you to comment as if you were a fucking slave in the 1900’s. My experience at a predominantly white institution has taught me that my white peers have a phenomenal way of making those who are different feel like a monkey in a zoo.

Thank-you Christopher Newport for deciding to include that one token black person on the revolving photos of the main website. Also, much appreciation for boasting that the school stresses “the value we place on treating all people with dignity and respect.,” when in all reality I haven’t felt as humiliated and embarrassed about the color of my skin and where I come from until these last two wonderful years here. Any student of color can attest to the lack of an inclusive environment on campus.

The report, a research brief titled “The Climate for Underrepresented Groups and Diversity on Campus,” says a number of recent race-related incidents on campuses demonstrate that challenges in discrimination still exist. The most prevalent form of discrimination felt by the minority respondents was in the form of verbal comments, the report says.

I’ll share some of my own personal experiences to give you a clearer picture if you are currently reading this in disbelief, because who would believe that racism actually still exists? For example, when all the white girls on your hall want to ask you about your constantly evolving hair styles and make comments like, “Do you ever wash it?”, like black people don’t use shampoo. Or, when you’re at the running home event for Panhellenic sororities and eight hundred white girls scream the N-word while singing a song, because it’s okay to use the word if it’s in a song.  My favorite is when I’m assumed to be a student athlete, because it’s obvious that the only black girl in class must have chosen to pursue her education at a PWI to play on the basketball team.

The report went on to note that other forms of discrimination, such as experiencing offensive visual images or feeling excluded from campus events, followed a similar pattern. This reminds me of having four classes with all white professors, going to grab food in either dining hall and damn near every employee in service is black. Then, when I come back to my room, all the women and men who clean our dormitories are black.

This is a disturbing visual image for me. Low representation creates a detrimental effect on the campus, so maybe CNU should acknowledge that issue before expanding another building to fill it with more black employees.

My experience is one that many have felt, and some are just starting to understand. While there is nothing wrong with going to a PWI it is a difficult adjustment for a lot of students. Gladly, CNU has taught me that in order to aide in diversity of colleges and assist our peers who aren’t culturally aware, we have to shove every bit of our uniqueness and individuality in their faces.

Yes, you’ll deal with people who don’t understand your views. Those people will never be open minded to understanding because they don’t care to. They don’t care because it doesn’t affect them. But it is up to you to be heard, to be respected. I am not saying it will be easy. You may come into contact with people who claim that they don’t see color and take the color-blind approach, but in reality, we are black, we are not invisible, and we need to use this knowledge to help us further establish our identities on campus.

21 thoughts on “A Message to My Peers Who Lack Melanin: Being Black at a PWI

Add yours

  1. Spoken by a CNU student but relevant to PWI’s everywhere. Thank you for being bold and truthful enough to address this topic with such transparency!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. THIS. 👌🏽

    Honestly, this just made me feel like I’m not alone. So well put together, girl! Thanks for being the voice for us. I wish everyone could read this and see how we feel on a DAILY basis.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This was absolutely amazing! Every emotion and thought that I have throughout the day was articulated so well. I enjoyed reading this and will definitely share it. All the emotion and thoughts a student of color has in a day at a PWI is put into words, perfectly!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This article is stating nothing but the truth. The inclusive environment that CNU claims & loves to pride itself on is non-existent. If CNU wants to be a place of diversity like it claims, things must change.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This article is not only eye opening but as a black female that also attends a pwi, I can strongly relate to every point made. I encourage those that attend a pwi and are the majority of such should take the time to read this article! We’ll done!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I honestly couldn’t say it better and it is people like you who will help make a different at PWI’s. I couldn’t help but get chills when reading this because everything you said was true. If people were put in our shoes, they probably wouldn’t have much to say about our hair or skin complexion. Equality is key no matter what race or gender you are and I hope that as the years go by, people start to see and feel it more.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This is real and this IS an issue that so many of us face. Thank you for being the voice for underrepresented black students everywhere. As a black (female) student attending a PWI, it is somewhat relieving to know that I am not alone through these terrible experiences. Continue to speak up and apply pressure.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This is great. Very honest, very true. Many don’t understand things they don’t directly experience & this shows the importance in sharing those experiences to open the minds of others who don’t share the same experiences while relating to those that do. Amazing job.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Thank you for speaking up about an issue most people don’t want to hear about. I related to everything you said. I’m patiently waiting for this ignorant behavior at PWI to end.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. As a CNU Alumna I have not had any of these particular experiences, but I have had some of my own. The racial divide on campus is REAL for many reasons on both sides (black&white). However, I do find it absurd that CNU would allow explicit music to be played at a Greek Event and allow members to sing along and shout the “N” word. Hold the campus to its standards and values and reprimand others for their racially offensive actions.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Perfectly describes the everyday life of minorities, but especially African Americans.. when we are noticed at PWI’s it’s normally for the wrong reason. We must prove all wrong and continue to excel and provide great achievements. This article shows that we (A.A’s) are not alone.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Great article! I understand what your going through as i go through a PWI as well. Great to see someone give a voice to those who may not be bold enough yet to speak up about such things!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. JAYNE YOU SPEAK NOTHING BUT TRUTH! I think it’s about time that the truth about the daily struggle of being a POC is revealed and this was beautifully crafted. Proud of you girl

    Liked by 1 person

  14. It’s truly about time. So now we have to make moves and make something happen. There can be change in this campus but we have to initiate it. Proud of you Jayne!

    Like

  15. Jayne- I found your article through a friend on Twitter. Thank you for your honesty and for your willingness to share life as you experience it. While I’m not a peer (I’m a few years past being college age) I am definitely lacking melanin.
    I have told my friends to let me know if my questions or cluelessness are ever offensive. I never want to be, but as a white woman I want to understand what I clearly know nothing about. It makes my heart hurt to know that in modern America that there is still a racial divide. How can we fix this? What can we do? I would love the chance to talk with you more about this.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑